unnamed

So as I mentioned, Nevin and I have been trying to eat healthier. Everyone is always ranting and raving over how amazing salmon is and how it is one of the healthiest foods you can eat. Well, there is just one small problem, I don’t really like salmon. You see, I’ve always loved shrimp, but anything too fishy throws me for a loop. I started eating (and enjoying) white fish (monkfish, swordfish, tilapia, cod, mahi mahi, halibut etc) when I was about 21. I’m getting better, but still have a relatively strong aversion to the ‘fishy’ flavor. Salmon is right on the cusp for me between tolerable and too fishy.

Nevertheless, I decided to bite the bullet and make salmon in way I thought I would find enjoyable- spicy with a cool, refreshing, fruity salsa! It actually came out quite well! I loved the salsa, and the fish was HOT. I really enjoyed it, but if your palate isn’t used to spicy food I would use less cayenne pepper or substitute for a more mild spice- like chili powder. I would’ve probably given it a 9/10 if it had been a less fishy fish, but unfortunately I still got remnants (albeit small) of that salmon flavor.


Ingredients:

For the salsa: 

Directions:

Combine all the salsa ingredients in a bowl, season with salt and pepper and refrigerate until ready to serve.

In a small bowl, add the paprika, cayenne, thyme, oregano and salt and mix . Put the mixture on a plate and coat the salmon fillets.

Heat a large cast iron skillet (0r any moderately heavy bottom pan) over medium heat, and spray with oil. When the pan is very hot, add the salmon, flesh side down and cook for 2 to 3 minutes. Use a spatula to carefully turn the salmon, then cook an additional 5 to 6 minutes.

Nutrition Facts:

Servings: 4; Calories: 221; Fat: 9 g; Sodium: 633 mg; Cholesterol: 63 mg; Carb: 12 g; Sugars: 8 g; Protein: 24 g

Note: all nutrition facts are calculated via Recipe Calculator


Amanda’s Rating: 7/10

Nevin’s Rating: 8/10

 “There’s something wrong with you if you don’t like salmon because this is delicious!”

