Coconut CreamI saw this interesting idea to create a frozen treat using coconut cream on this awesome blog and was quite intrigued. I decided to put my spin on it and give it a try! Check out the original inspirational post for Coconut Cream Dark Chocolate Ice Cubes! I followed the exact same idea, but substituted dark chocolate for dark chocolate with a salted caramel cream filling (my new addiction). The result was creamy and delicious, but very, very sweet! I don’t have much of a sweet tooth anymore, so these were a little decadent for me. However, the flavors complement each other so well that, in small quantities, this makes for a delightful treat! I also used a mini muffin pan since I didn’t have a spare ice cube tray, which worked out great because that quantity was slightly smaller. What do you think? Is it delicious, or too sweet? Let me know if you try it, and if so, which topping you choose to use!


 Servings: 8
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 0 minutes (2-3 hours inactive; freezing time)

Ingredients:

  • 1 can coconut cream (I used Goya)
  • 4 squares dark chocolate with salted caramel (I used Ghirardellis, but honestly would have preferred the candy bar from Trader Joes)

Directions:

Spoon the coconut cream into mini muffin pan. It will likely fill ~ 8 muffin spots. Be sure to only spoon the cream and not the liquid, syrupy portion. That syrup is way too sweet and won’t properly freeze. Break each chocolate square in half and push into the cream. Pop in the freezer for a few hours. When frozen, spoon out and enjoy!

Yum

Nutrition Facts:

Calories: 151; Fat: 5 g; Cholesterol: 0 g; Sodium: 15 mg; Carbs: 20 g; Sugars: 19 g; Protein: 0 g


Amanda’s Rating: 7/10

The flavors were so delicious, I just wish it weren’t quite as sweet!

Nevin’s Rating: 7.5/10

