Banana Cupcake

I woke up yesterday morning and was absolutely horrified. Let me just remind everyone reading this that it was April 16th, I’m talking mid April, almost late April, if we choose to round up. Well, I was opening the sliding glass door blinds  (I do this every morning for the little kitty cats) and I noticed that there was snow on the ground. Yes, you read that correctly, SNOW! What the heck? But it wasn’t even nice snow, it was icy, disgusting, wet snow. I seriously need to get out of the northeast and this was the straw that broke my proverbial back. Anyways, I headed out the door, muttering profanities under my breath, when I slipped and fell on the steps outside my apartment. One leg came out completely from underneath me, so I instinctively reached out to grab the railing. Unfortunately, this too was covered in ice, so my pathetic little hand just slipped right off of that. Now, I’m a pretty positive person, pretty glass half full, but this made me so incredibly angry, bordering on irrational (okay it crossed the border, I was irrational).  That’s when I knew that I needed to make something delicious as soon as I came home to set things right. These are my absolute favorite cupcakes ever! Nevin’s coworker once actually described these cupcakes as having the power to “renew her faith in the universe”.  I can’t even make that up. If you are having a day that isn’t going your way, this is the solution! 


Servings: 18
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 20-25 minutes

Ingredients:

For the cupcakes

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 stick butter (softened)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 3-4 ripe bananas

For the icing

  • 3 oz cream cheese
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup confectioner sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

For the cupcakes

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Line a 12-cup standard muffin tin with paper cupcake liners.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, add the butter and granulated sugar. Beat with a handheld mixer until combined. Add the sour cream and vanilla. Slowly beat in the eggs, one at a time. Incorporate the dry mixture and wet mixture together until thoroughly combined. Add the bananas.

Fill each cupcake liner three-quarters of the way full.IMG_2148 Bake in the oven about 20-25 minutes (or until you can cleanly remove a toothpick). Remove the cupcakes from the oven to a wire rack and let cool before frosting.

For the icing:

Mix all ingredients together with a handheld mixer. Wait for cupcakes to cool then ice and DEVOUR! Or you can be generous like me and give them to your friends! IMG_2153Nutrition Facts:

Calories: 157; Fat: 8 g; Cholesterol: 39 mg; Sodium 103 mg; Carbs: 19 g; Sugars: 10 g; Protein: 2 g


Amanda’s Rating: 10/10

Nevin’s Rating: 10/10

