Eggplant Parm

I’ve noticed that most of my dishes so far have been a little meat heavy, so I wanted to incorporate some more vegetarian options for my readers. I have always loved eggplant, whether in curries or Italian dishes, so I figured I’d go with an easy, delicious eggplant Parmesan! This dish is baked instead of fried, so it’s a healthier alternative to the typical dish. I actually prefer the lighter texture of the baked eggplant. What’s great about this dish is that you can either eat it atop your favorite pasta, or you can eat it alone as makeshift eggplant lasagna type meal. Additionally, it keeps really well. Whenever I make this, I always take leftovers to work for lunch the next day and the flavor gets even better. I hope you all enjoy this as much as we do!


Servings: 4-5
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 55 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 large eggplant (sliced into circles)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs
  • 8 oz fresh mozzarella
  • Pasta sauce (our favorite inexpensive bottled marinara sauce is Prego Traditional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400F. Dip eggplant slices in egg wash then coat with breadcrumbs. Place on a baking pan and cook in preheated oven for 20 minutes. breaded eggplant

When done, remove from oven and place half the slices in a baking dish. Layer pasta sauce on each slice, followed by mozzarella. Place the other pieces on eggplant on top and also layer those with pasta sauce and mozzarella. Top with breadcrumbs and bake for 35 minutes.

Eggplant Pre- oven

Remove from oven and enjoy either alone or on top of the pasta of your choice! Top with some shredded Parmesan if you are feeling crazy!

Eggplant cooked

Nutrition Facts:

Calories: 250; Fat: 10 g; Cholesterol: 56 mg; Sodium: 640 mg; Carbs: 24 g; Sugars: 6 g; Protein: 16 g

**Note: nutrition facts are only for eggplant, they do not include spaghetti


Amanda’s Rating: 9/10

Nevin’s Rating: 9/10

 

