IMG_2191As you’ve already seen from my Strawberry Pineapple Smoothie and Mixed Berry Smoothie recipes, I’ve become very fond of chia seeds. I have been incorporating them into smoothies as a nice healthy addition, but have been wanting to do more with them. I began to hear about chia seed pudding and became intrigued. Also, coincidentally, Nevin and I have started buying the chocolate and vanilla swirl Jello pudding packs lately and have been enjoying them as much as we did in childhood. Chia pudding has the potential to be a much healthier, and overall more cost effective, alternative to these delightful puddings. I knew that if I was going to faze out Jello pudding, that I would need to make the chia pudding super tasty. That’s where the Nutella came in, obviously. So, I started looking around for chia pudding recipes and stumbled across this delicious looking recipe for Chocolate Peanut Butter Chia Seed Pudding on this fantastic blog, The Thin Kitchen. It was perfect, especially because I already had planned to use Nutella! I made a couple of changes, such as using Nutella instead of peanut butter. I also used vanilla yogurt instead of maple syrup because I don’t like things too sweet, and I thought the sugar level from the yogurt would be perfect. Oh, and I doubled it because I needed more! This pudding came out awesome! If I did it again, I might add some cocoa powder to give it a more chocolate-y taste (although if you choose to top it with a little chocolate syrup as suggested by my friend and coworker Jared – HAY JARED!- you probably won’t need to). Additionally, I would heat up the Nutella  a little bit before mixing it into the other ingredients to make whisking easier. This is the perfect dessert for me, as it has an interesting flavor profile but isn’t too, too sweet. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention that it’s completely guilt-free because it is so healthy! 


Servings: 8
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 0 minutes (inactive 8 hours)

Ingredients:

  •  1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 2 cups chocolate almond milk
  • 2 cups 0% fat plain Greek yogurt (I use Fage)
  • 2 tbsp Nutella
  • 2 tbsp low fat vanilla yogurt  (for added sweetness)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Place all ingredients in large bowl. IMG_2184Whisk until ingredients are well combined. IMG_2185Cover the bowl tightly with saran-a-wrap and refrigerate overnight. The next morning it will have thickened and developed a pudding-like consistency. Serve pudding and top with fresh strawberries, bananas and a little bit of chocolate syrup (or whatever toppings you like!). Enjoy!IMG_2192

Nutrition Facts:

Calories: 126; Fat: 4 g; Cholesterol 0 mg; Sodium: 58 g; Carbs: 14 g; Sugars 10 g; Protein 8 g

**Note: nutrition facts do not include toppings


Amanda’s Rating: 8/10

Nevin’s Rating: TBD (Nev-dawg is out of town on business, rating will come soon)

