Baked BrieBrie is one of my favorite cheeses. It is a deliciously creamy, mild cheese that pairs perfectly with many different fruits. Ever since I was little, I would always request brie and crackers at any upcoming holiday including Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years etc… In my eyes these holidays really only had one purpose and true meaning— that is was time for some delicious brie! In college my good friend Sarah (HI SARAH) introduced me to baked brie. I was shocked that I had lived for so long without the life altering knowledge of the existence of baked brie. Since then, I have worked on mastering the perfect baked brie and I think this comes pretty close. I used apricot jam here because I think it pairs really well (even though I’m not normally a huge apricot fan), but feel free to use a different jam to better suit your tastes and make the recipe your own. Let me know what you think- that is, if you are able to type without getting brie all over your keyboard :-).


Servings: 8

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 20 minutes
Ingredients:

  • 1 8oz Pillsbury Crescent roll tube
  • 1 8oz wheel of brie (don’t get double creamy as it will come out too greasy)
  • 1/4 cup apricot preserves
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp brown sugar (or however much you like)
  • green apple to serve

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 F. Cut brie in half to yield 2 circles. The best way to cut soft cheese is actually to use floss instead of a knife. I will be posting a video of how to do this shortly under Tips and Tricks for those of you unfamiliar with this time saving trick! Leave most of the rind on- it will soften while cooking and will help to keep the brie contained! Spread the apricot preserves on your cut brie, then place both pieces on top of each other.  IMG_3040Roll out your crescent roll dough and wrap brie with it, making sure to seal any tears. Next, whisk an egg in a bowl and brush the brie with the egg wash to further seal the crescent roll dough around the brie.IMG_3042Place the brie seam side down on a greased baking sheet. Sprinkle with brown sugar. IMG_3045Bake for ~20 minutes until golden brown and crisp. Serve with sliced green apples and try to not eat the whole wheel by yourself!Baked brie

Nutrition Facts:

Calories: 198; Fat: 15 g; Cholesterol: 31 mg; Sodium: 224 mg; Carbs: 12 g; Sugars: 3 g; Protein: 6 g


Amanda’s Rating: 9/10

Nevin’s Rating: 8.5/10

