Cheddar Buttermilk BiscuitsWe had some leftover buttermilk from our delicious buttermilk mashed potatoes (see recipes here) and I had absolutely no idea how to use it. When I think of buttermilk, my mind generally heads straight to desserts, but I wanted to try something a bit different. As I’ve mentioned before, I went to school in North Carolina and was lucky enough to consume an egregious amount of Southern biscuits. Seriously, they are so goooooood. Coming back to the Northeast was exciting in some ways, and then incredibly depressing in others – such as the fact that I have to wear a parka into April and also that I no longer have delicious, light, fluffy biscuits everywhere I turn. As much as I’ve tried to harness very elusive secret magical powers to change the weather, I’ve eventually had to accept defeat. However, I did think I could tackle trying to make some biscuits. These did not disappoint. Honestly, they were perfect. Be careful to keep an eye on these around the 15 minute mark to avoid over-browning the bottoms. 


Servings: 8
Prep Time: 30 minutes
Cook Time: 18-20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups white flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup cold buttermilk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup extra sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • egg, mixed with 1 tbsp milk for egg wash

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Place flour, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.IMG_3130 Add the butter and mix until the butter is the size of peas.IMG_3131Combine the buttermilk and egg in a small measuring cup and beat lightly with a fork. Add the buttermilk mixture to the flour mixture and mix on low, until moistened. In a small bowl, mix the cheddar with small handful of flour and add the cheese to the dough. Mix only until roughly combined.

Place dough mixture on a well-floured board and knead lightly a couple of times. Roll the dough out to a rectangle 10 by 5 inches. With a sharp, floured knife, cut the dough lengthwise in half and then across in quarters, making 8 rough rectangles. Transfer to a sheet pan lined with parchment paper. IMG_3132Brush the tops with the egg wash.IMG_3133 Bake biscuits for 18-20 minutes, until the tops are browned and the biscuits are cooked through.IMG_3135 Serve hot! If you can’t eat them all at once, take the dough, wrap in parchment paper and freeze until ready for use. When ready, let thaw then bake. I still have 2 in the freezer that I plan to bake and use as biscuits for breakfast sandwiches with sausage and egg. YUM

Nutrition Facts:

Calories: 350; Fat: 25 g; Cholesterol: 100 mg; Sodium: 400 mg; Carbs: 20 g; Sugars: 1 g; Protein: 12 g


Amanda’s Rating: 8.5/10

Nevin’s Rating: 8/10

