Strawberry Milk Cupcake with Mascarpone Whipped Cream

 

I wanted to try something a little different and Nevin had a hankering for strawberry milk a couple weeks ago. We ended up buying that bizarre Hershey’s strawberry syrup that you can stir into milk. I’ve always been a milk fanatic (seriously, I go through about a gallon a week solo) but never had strawberry milk that much. Generally if I wanted to mix it up, I’d go the chocolate milk route, but I do remember being pleasantly surprised as a child by the strawberry Nesquik powder flavor. Needless to say, I decided to use that weird syrup in a baking recipe! It just so happened to be a friend at work’s birthday (hi Maddie!), so it was a perfect excuse to bake :-D The end result ended up being awesome! In retrospect, I should have used a little more strawberry syrup to get more of a pseudo strawberry milkshake, but I was worried it would taste too sweet or artificial which is why I wasn’t too heavy handed with it. The mascarpone whipped cream was out of this WORLD and paired perfectly with the sweet cake and fresh strawberry topping. I wish I could take credit for the whipped cream recipe, but I got it from this awesome blog, foodlikecake. I hope you all like this, and remember, don’t be as shy as I was with the strawberry syrup! Embrace your inner child! If Nevdawg hadn’t I wouldn’t have this interesting recipe for you all :-D!


Servings: 18

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

For the cupcakes

  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 4 egg whites
  • 2 tbsp strawberry syrup
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 3/4 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp baking powder

For the frosting

  • 1 cup mascarpone cheese
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Line cupcake trays with cupcake liners. In a large bowl, mix together milk, egg whites, strawberry syrup, and vanilla extract using an electric mixer. IMG_3223Add in butter and sugar. Mix until well combined. IMG_3224Slowly add in flour, salt, and baking powder until just combined. IMG_3225Be careful not to over-mix after you add the baking powder, as I’ve noticed over-mixing makes cakes rise less. Fill cupcake liners 3/4 of the way full and baking for 15-20 minutes until done. 

While the cupcakes are baking, get started on your delicious whipped cream frosting! In a small bowl, combine all ingredients. Beat until the mixture is thick and hold firm peaks. IMG_3226Pipe onto cupcakes (after the cupcakes have cooled) and enjoy!! Be sure to top with fresh strawberries!IMG_3230

Nutrition Facts:

Calories: 301; Fat: 17 g; Cholesterol: 55 mg; Carbs: 30 g; Sugars: 15 g; Protein: 5 g


Amanda’s Rating: 8/10

Nevin’s Rating: 8/10

 

 

