Every now and again, Amanda goes off on an adventure and leaves me (The Photographer) to my own devices. So I thought…why not use those devices and takeover her blog while she’s out of town!

Now, I know what all of you out in the Blogosphere must be thinking: Time for a post about the shady inner-workings of ‘PinchPurrfect’! Chef Chewie’s DARK SECRETS revealed!! Unfortunately…no. She comes home soon, and I value my life. Soooo, let’s just stick to the food!

I’m sure Amanda has mentioned my love of the Food Network (specifically, Ina Garten aka The Barefoot Contessa – I feel so nurtured when I watch her!). When I do get a chance to watch Ina, I sometimes stick around to see who’s on next; the other day I caught the first segment of “The Pioneer Woman”. It’s a show about “an accidental country girl” who whips up recipes that have to be approved by “cowboys, hungry kids”, and her! Nice! During the segment she showcased her Kale Citrus Salad…it looked so good I decided to have it for dinner and share it with all of you! You’re welcome!!

IMG_3297

Now, kale is a tricky leaf – I’m about 50/50 when it comes to it in salads. Sometimes it’s a little too bitter, but other times it can be paired purrfectly with a tasty dressing (as it is in this recipe) that hides the bitterness.

Servings: 4

Prep Time: 20 minutes

Cook Time: zero!

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch kale, leaves torn off the stalks
  • 1 orange, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 4 oz. goat cheese/chevre
  • croutons (optional)
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, grated
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • salt and black pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon (heaping) plain greek yogurt

Directions:

Grab bunches of the kale leaves and use a sharp knife to thinly slice them. Keep going until you have a big pile of finely shredded kale.

IMG_3298

To make the dressing, combine the orange juice, olive oil, garlic (in my case, there was no fresh garlic so I substituted a few dashes of garlic power), sugar, salt and pepper in a small tupperware. Shake vigorously until all combined, then add the sour cream or yogurt and shake again until it’s nice and creamy.

IMG_3299 IMG_3300 IMG_3301 IMG_3302

Toss the kale in half the dressing for a minute or so…

IMG_3303

…then add the citrus pieces and croutons (again, optional). Toss again until combined. Add a little more dressing if it needs it (extra dressing can be stored in the fridge and used for any salad.)

IMG_3304

Lastly, break the goat cheese into chunks with a fork and toss it into the salad. Serve it up and enjoy!!

IMG_3305

There you have it – healthy AND delicious! It was a good counter to the apple pie I made for myself later that night (recipe to come soon)!!

IMG_33071

Nevs

