So this post comes about 2 months late, but better late than never! As you know, Nevin and I moved into an awesome new apartment back in July. We managed to get the place in good enough condition to have a housewarming get together in the middle of August! We invited a bunch of friends over, made some food, and enjoyed some drinks. Also, it just so happened to coincide with Han and Chewie’s 1st birthday, so we made sure they were dressed to impress and enjoy the lime light. Unfortunately, Chewie grew a little shy and decided to spend his evening relaxing under the sofa in Nevin’s office, so we didn’t get many pictures of him all dolled up. Luckily, we had attention seeking baby Han to fulfill that requirement.

Well now the reason that we are all here: the food! We actually made some of our tried and true recipes. For drinks, we made a large pitcher of margaritas and a huge vat of white wine sangria. Our sangria was similar to my tropical white wine sangria but since it was a party, we upped the ante a little by adding 2 sliced oranges and 1 and 1/3 cups of Malibu rum. IMG_3258Because we love hosting, we put out plastic cups rimmed with salt, sugar and spices for our margaritas :-). For appetizers, I made a new version of my classic baked brie.  Instead of using apricot jam, I used some strawberry-rhubarb jam that we got at the Sowa Open Market in Boston. If you live locally, try to make it to Sowa- it is truly incredible! Of all the products, I probably recommend their honey most highly. Anyways, the brie turned out awesome! It just goes to show how versatile this recipe is! We rounded out the appetizers with my 8 layer dip and buffalo chicken dip. Overall, the party was a success! We did have a near casualty and a close second, but we all survived and we hope to have all our amazing friends back over for a Holiday Party sometime in December!

I’m sitting on several recipes from the past 2 months that I hope to get up here as soon I can- trust me some of them are delicious! It’s been super hectic at work and at home, but I will make more of an effort to update the blog more regularly going forward and I apologize for the lack of posts as of late. Talk to you all soon!

