Happy holidays everyone! As always, I was spoiled rotten by my family and friends this Christmas and now have a whole bunch of goodies. I received a lot of cooking-related gifts, which I am thrilled about. Of particular relevance to this blog post are the gifts I received from my Uncle Bob. He got us these absolutely beautiful cook books spanning different cultures and cuisines. One of the books that caught my eye was an authentic Jamaican cook book entitled “Lucinda’s Authentic Jamaican Kitchen.”I knew that jerk chicken was next on my to-try list!

And boy was I glad I had this recipe because this dish was awesome! I had to adapt the recipe a bit, simply because I didn’t use a charcoal grill (1: I don’t have one and 2: it’s too cold to venture outside). However, baking it in the oven still gave it a nice, crispy skin while preserving the inside moisture. This was perfect paired with a refreshing avocado salad and a cool, cucumber and mint yogurt. Hope you all enjoy as much as we did!


Servings: 4

Prep Time: 20 minutes (inactive 1+ hours)

Cook Time: 50 minutes

Ingredients:

For the chicken

  • 3 lbs chicken (we used drumsticks and thighs with the skin ON)
  • 2 bunches of green onions (cut finely
  • 2 large cloves of garlic (minced)
  • 2 scotch bonnet peppers (seeded and cut finely)
  • 1 sprig fresh thyme
  • 1/8 cup all spice
  • 1 tbsp black pepper
  • 3/4 tbsp salt
  • 1/2 cup H2O

For the yogurt sauce

  • 2/3 cup plain fat free yogurt
  • small amount of minced green onion
  • 2 tsp fresh mint (chopped)
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 3/4 cup cucumber (chopped finely)

Directions:

Combine all of the ingredients except water and chicken in a large bowl. Mix well and add the water to for a loose paste.

IMG_3437

Place the chicken in the bowl and coat completely (don’t be afraid to use your hands and get a little messy).

IMG_3439

Cover the bowl, place in the fridge, and marinate for at least 1 hour. Throughout the hour, continue to occasionally mix the chicken to ensure that all pieces are coated.

While your chicken is marinating, you can make your yogurt sauce. Chop up all your ingredients. I used this awesome Vidalia Chop Wizard to finely chop my cucumber in a snap.

IMG_3441IMG_3442

Really great item to have lying around! Add all your yogurt ingredients in a bowl and mix well to combine.

IMG_3443

Do a quick taste test and adjust salt as appropriate. Cover and chill in the fridge.

Now, preheat your oven to 375 F. Arrange your chicken on a foil lined baking sheet. IMG_3448

Bake at 375 for about 50 minutes, or until thoroughly cooked and the skin is nice and crispy.

IMG_3449

If your skin isn’t crisping up to your satisfaction, feel free to broil it for a couple of minutes at the end. Now plate and serve with your yogurt sauce and a nice, fresh salad.IMG_3451

IMG_3454


Nevin’s Rating: 9/10

Amanda’s Rating: 8/10

